top of page
  • Writer's pictureRCEA

WVEA Needs Your Help in Award Nominations

WVEA Seeks Award Nominations

Each year WVEA honors individuals who go above and beyond through a series of awards.

Do you know someone who has done outstanding service, shown professional courage or fosters community outreach? If so, nominate them for one of the WVEA’s annual awards.

Award categories are listed below, and a nomination form can be found here. The awards will be presented in late April at the WVEA’s Delegate Assembly banquet.

The WVEA Mary Titus/Janet Zevnik Award for Professional Courage is WVEA's oldest award, first presented in 1968. The award will be presented in either or both of the following situations: (1) a member who, over a long period of time, has constantly shown professional courage under fire and has uncompromisingly worked for the welfare of other teachers without catering to others for personal advancements, and/or (2) a member who, under severe and critical circumstances, has shown leadership beyond the call of duty and has taken considerable personal risk in standing up for the goals and purposes of the Association.

The WVEA Margaret Baldwin Friend of Education Award recognizes a person who has proven to be a true friend of education and has demonstrated this through leadership, actions and support at the state level. Nominees may not be educators by profession and are selected regardless of age, sex, race, color or creed.

The WVEA Corma A. Mowrey Memorial Award originated in 1983 in honor of the late Corma Mowrey, a past president of the National Education Association. This award recognizes demonstrated leadership ability in activities which are unique and contribute to the advancement of women. It may be awarded to members or non-educators.

The WVEA Lucile Meadows Award for Outstanding Program Development in Human Relations is given to a county association with an active human relations program which develops programs that have a significant impact on education and have furthered the achievement of equal education.

The WVEA Pearl S. Buck Memorial Award honors a person outside the field of education who has made outstanding strides for education in the field of human relations. The nominee must have impacted an entire school or a significant portion of the local community.

The WVEA Mary L. Williams Memorial Award goes to an educator who has made outstanding strides in the field of human relations. The individual must have worked beyond the call of duty, attempting to eliminate racial inequities in the education profession. The person also must have worked to bring about improved intergroup relations and understanding, and must have been identified and recognized by his or her community.

The WVEA Phares E. Reeder Award (formerly the WVEA Caring Award) is given to a member of the association, for his/her outstanding support of a student, causing the student to improve school work and helping said student become a more worthwhile citizen in the school and community. This support should be beyond regular classroom duties.

The WVEA Legislative Achievement Award recognizes a legislator who, because of his/her special efforts, goes beyond the normal legislative process in support of education. The nominee should be a veteran legislator of at least five years of service in the House of Delegates and/or the Senate and his/her legislative achievements must be far-reaching and have a long-term positive impact on the ability of this state to offer a quality education program for its youngsters or positively affect the general welfare of public school teachers and education support professionals.

The WVEA Educational Support Professionals Award recognizes individuals who have been an ESP member for three years as of January 15 of the award year. Local presidents are encouraged to nominate ESP members who show outstanding accomplishments in one or more of the following areas: (1) innovations to support the day-to-day education process, (2) professional achievements in his/her job classification, (3) involvement in promoting public education in the community, and (4) enhancement of education support professionals’ image in the Association, work site, or community.

The WVEA Ermalee Boice Community Outreach Award goes to an individual or a local who initiates or fosters improvements in relationships between public schools and the broader community.

The WVEA Effie Mayhan Brown Award recognizes an individual who exemplifies the values of Equal Opportunity as stated in WVEA’s Mission statement, resulting in positive community growth and contributions.

To nominate someone for one of the WVEA Awards listed above please download the nomination form and return it to WVEA by the March 23rd deadline.

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page